Signed in as:
Signed in as:
A Marriage License is the legal document which one must have to get married. A Marriage Certificate is the legal document that proves that you have been married. In order for our team to marry you, you must get a LICENSE first.
The first step is to select an Officiant like one of us at Cloud 9 Favors. An Officiant is the person who performs the actual marriage ceremony. Once you have confirmed both the Officiant and the date of the ceremony, you must schedule an appointment with the City Clerk’s Office to apply for your Marriage License. Most licenses are only good for 30-60 days. In New York, you should book your license appointment at least a month prior to your ceremony. In NJ, you can apply up to 6 months before your wedding date. You can request your license in NJ within 30 days of your wedding date. However, you must ensure your wedding license expiration date is AFTER your wedding date. In NJ, you will have to supply the name and address for your Wedding Officiant. Hence why we say to select your officiant first.
It varies by state. There is a three-day waiting period before you can be married in NJ. In NY state, it is 24 hours.
Many wedding vendors book out at least a year in advance. So if you love a location or a specific vendor, book them ASAP. They will likely require either a 20-50% deposit and require at least one of you to sign a contract. Make sure to read the fine print.
Establish what your Wedding Officiant budget will be before reaching out. Remember, that your Wedding Officiant is one of the most important parts of your wedding. Without him or her, you won't be able to get married which is why you are throwing the big wedding party. Most experienced Wedding Officiants will cost between $500-$1,000 in NY and NJ. Elopements are often between $300-$500 for an experienced officiant. Remember, officiants are responsible for walking you through the process of getting married, planning and executing your wedding ceremony and filing the legal paperwork to final your marriage. Many don't just show up and
perform the ceremony.
All Wedding Officiants have 5 days to return your signed wedding license. After that, the process for getting a certified copy of your marriage certificate will defer by state and your municipality. For most NY towns and cities, they will automatically mail it out within a week of receiving it from the Wedding Officiant. In NYC, it can take up to 3 weeks.
In New Jersey, you can either contact the clerk's office or the department of vital statistics in the town you got married in.
Copyright © 2023 Cloud 9 Favors - All Rights Reserved.